I think I have a new fan for my story “Driving Mr. Daisy.” This is drimhaus’ comment.

https://secure.gravatar.com/avatar/7e47b8613ae41febdb185db3a71e033b?s=150&r=pg&d=mm

drimhaus wrote September 16, 2015 at 10:51 am

great piece @lindamyrojudd. i envy your relationship with Mr. Daisy (maybe you can also write a piece on the birth of Mr. Daisy, just curious why you call him by that name). am also curious on that novel, an unputdownable one, i guess.

My reply via Driving Mr. Daisy | lindyjudd folio.

Thank you for your comments, very interesting.

I found this about the film, Driving Mr. Daisy : “Racial tensions are delicately explored when a warm friendship evolves between an elderly Jewish woman and her black chauffeur. Winner of a 1988 Pulitzer Prize, and Academy Awards for Best Picture and Best Adapted Screenplay.” The movie was based on the Alfred Uhry play of the same name.

In my story, I did a role reversal. I am a Mexican American woman, and I drove Mr. Daisy, a white American man. I didn’t read the book nor did I see the movie. But from the movie clip that played on television and the web, I found the friendship of the two characters charming. I was hoping to capture that charm in my story.

I called him Mr. Daisy, for the fun of it.

### end of reply

This post is the homework from a Blogging 101 class on pingbacks. If you look in the comment section on my story, you see “Pingback: Driving Mr. Daisy | lindyjudd folio | WritersJacket.” This link shows the relationship of the excerpt: the text in large font above, the original post: Driving Mr. Daisy, the blog it came from: lindyjudd folio, and the place the excerpt now appears: my blog WritersJacket.

Aside from this, Driving Mr. Daisy, was written as a humorous spin on colonoscopy procedures, a very important, yet not favorable topic of conversation for any age.

